Wakelet Logo

WWS Special Education Website

@WWS_SpEd_and_Student_Services_Website7729
Vision:
Each student has equitable opportunities to engage in innovative, high-quality instruction in their least restrictive environment, allowing for maximizing academic, social and emotional growth.
Mission:
To eliminate the learning, social and emotional gaps by providing equal access to high-quality comprehensive services that support student achievement.
Westfield Washington Schools is committed to providing a full continuum of quality educational services for students with disabilities ages 3-22 years of age in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities of Act (IDEA/Article 7). General and special education teachers work collaboratively to provide an appropriate education in the least restrictive environment for all students. Special education supports and services are provided to ensure academic, social, emotional, behavioral, adaptive, and physical needs of all students with disabilities are met. These supports and services are established within the students Individual Education Program Plan (IEP).
Priority is placed on serving students with disabilities in the general education setting, being taught alongside their general education peers. The majority of our students are served in their home schools/general education classrooms. In less common cases, the IEP team may determine that alternative instruction or an alternative placement may be required to meet the needs of the individual student. The student’s parent or guardian is an essential member of that team.
If you suspect your child may have a disability or have concerns related to your child’s IEP please contact your child’s teacher, school’s principal or call the student services/special education office at 317-867-8006.

Director of Student Services & Special Education
Dr. Chase Stinson: stinsonc@wws.k12.in.us 

        Assistant Director of Special Education, PreK-6 
         Carla Butorac: butoracc@wws.k12.in.us

Assistant Director of Special Education, 7-12
Dr. Barb Walters: waltersb@wws.k12.in.us

Early Childhood Coordinator
Nora Bentivoglio: bentivoglion@wws.k12.in.us

      District Behavior Specialist
                     Carol Cramer:   cramerc@wws.k12.in.us           
                    
 Assistive Technology Coordinator
Anne Sommer:  sommera@wws.k12.in.us
...see more